Self Portrait

Ok, nexxt we have the Self Portrait project set by one Pauline Amphlett AKA Pamphlett.

Brief consisted of Drawing a line-art version of your own mug, then scanning it into the femputer for MANiPULaTION!!

MUHAHAHA!!

Hahah!

haha… ha… ahem.

Actually, it wasn’t sinister at all, but it was incredibly haaarrrd 😦

Basically the idea was to take various different textures (in my case i took photos of Grass, Brick, Wallpaper, Cushions, Leather, Tin Foil, Clouds and Pebbles) and use them to illustrate the different materials/textures found on our faces – for example, the photo of grass could be used (and WAS) as a substitute for the texture of my hair. Am I making sense?

Here, take a squizz at this:

There you see? I’ve copied the original photo by hand on paper with the trusted pencil, exaggerating slightly the features of my features I hate most (bulbous nose, big lips, bug-eyes) for comic effect (also because I hate my stupid face) then inked the basics, then inked all the extra detail and contours in an attempt to make myself look as hideous as possible. The result is an uncanny resemblance to the real thing don’t you think? 😛

Anyway, steps one to 3 on that sheet were the easy part (especially the photograph – point, click > Hey presto, ‘art’!), but stage 4 almost killed me. I cut, I placed, I clicked, I magic-wanded, I ‘made-new-layer’ed, I swore, I cried, I swore some more, I went for a cup of tea, I played Smash Bros, I clicked again, I swore for the third time and gave up.

But this took HOURS!    O_O

I just couldn’t get it to do… what I wanted it to bloody do! RAH! Eventually my Housemate Mr Chris Byrne woke up (what was it Chris… 4 o’clock in the arvo? You had a headache? Sure ok… what about yesterday then? :P) and the guy is a wizard on PS so he helped me work it all out. After much combined swearing and a Domino’s pizza, we managed to get brick where skin used to be, grass where hair used to be etc… thank the gods.

The next stage of the brief was to greyscale the image, then go over it with two colours of my choice. This too, proved problematic, as we couldn’t seem to have both the greyscale version, and the colour separation we needed, no matter how many different ways we tried it. Eventually we just cheated and painted over the top – Voila!

Not bad eh? Really pleased with the final version, but to be honest, again, I would have rather done it with ACTUAL materials such as ripped up paper for example, stuff I could really FEEL.

Will I ever love this bloody program?

About christofurr

I am an Illustrator currently in the third and final year of an Illustration For Graphic Novels course at Glyndwr University, Wrexham (UK). I do all kinds of commission work, from poster to portraits. Fell free to have a nose around this blog and any of my other sites - be warned, Twitter updates may be totally and completely irrelevant and naughty - and please feel free to contact my email address with any queries about my work :)

4 responses to “Self Portrait”

  1. Daisy says :

    Think your final piece is pretty nifty sir.
    I like the way everyone seems to be calling Pauline Pamphlett now. I giggled since the first time of writing down her email. c:

  2. Alex says :

    Ha ha! But the lineart looks great. Even if the second I looked at that picture, I thought of Beast from X-Men. Me, a geek? Hell yeah.

Leave a Reply

