John Romita Jr.

Ok, so I thought I’d better start adding some of my influences rather than just showing off my own stuff, as that IS what we’re supposed to be doing with this blog malarky (as far as I know anyway). SO…
While I’m a fan of most things Marvel, my interest in the comics started with the X-Men, and the artist who’s name I first committed to memory was that of John Romita Jr.

In fact, the first Marvel Collectors Edition comic that my brothers and I were bought (‘Essential X-Men’ – sort of like a compilation of US comics featuring the main core of the X-Men, reprinted and slapped with a nice shiny cover -and hefty price-tag- for those of us in the UK) featured his work – a detailed picture of Nightcrawler in the rain… one which i tried to find on google and failed. So here’s a nice one of Spider-man instead:

What I like about Romita’s work is the detailed line-work that he puts into each picture… except not so much that one, so here’s another (hey, I’m illustrating a point alright?):

http://romitaman.com/GalleryPiece.asp?Piece=4956&ArtistId=946&Details=1&From=Room

Hmm, WordPress was a bit funny about that URL, so I’ve put it above – not sure if this helps me get around any rule breaking or anything… still not sure how this all works…
ANYWAY, as you can see by this awesome X-Men cover (featuring Cyclops and Cable whaling on the X-Cutioner – but because he was trying to kill them, not because he has such a shocking super villain name – yes i have this one too 😛 ) the line-work is simply staggering, and would take me forever and a day, and then a month after that :/
The heavy lines used to define the muscle shapes really make the blank space left for the energy blasts stand out in my opinion, which is bizzare conisdering they’re basically just another pair of straight lines on a page full of straight lines… but it works. The lines surrounding the figures, meant both to simulate the light from the energy blasts and the direction of movement the bad-guy is being hurled in give a real sense of impact, and draw the eye straight in the the centre of the action… -sigh- the guys a genius *_*

I’ve recently been to see the film Kick-Ass – which I thought was awesome by the way, and recommend it to anyone who’s into the superhero genre/over-the-top gory cartoonish violence – and although it was recommended for me to read by Mr Tom and Mr Ted (the flowerpot men) I’ve yet to check it out, and had NO idea it TOO was drawn by Mr JR JR. until I did some research for this ‘ere blogamacallit! – It’ll be my next purchase from Amazon fo sho.

And finally, If you cut and copy this address > http://www.coverbrowser.com/covers/uncanny-x-men/7 you’ll find a selection of X-Men covers, that start with Romita and end with an artist named Joe Madureira (or Joe Mad for short) another art-hero of mine, who my next inspiration-related blog will no doubt be about (that was an ill rhyme foo, Daym.) – enjoy 🙂

About christofurr

I am an Illustrator currently in the third and final year of an Illustration For Graphic Novels course at Glyndwr University, Wrexham (UK). I do all kinds of commission work, from poster to portraits. Fell free to have a nose around this blog and any of my other sites - be warned, Twitter updates may be totally and completely irrelevant and naughty - and please feel free to contact my email address with any queries about my work :)

Leave a Reply

