Captain Falcon Is Made Of Win

Ok, it’s Birthday Card time again, the 22nd of this month being the turn of  little brother Jon (he’s so wickle! Yet he’s 20! How can this beee?)

ANYway – my brothers and I are big fans of a video game series called ‘Super Smash Bros’ – it comes in three flavours: Original, Melee and Brawl – and is only found on Nintendo consoles *looks smug* – this is mostly because it only used to feature Nintendo characters, but recently it’s been joined by the likes of Solid Snake (Konami) and Sonic The Hedgehog (DUH!) meaning that i can finally stage the battle I’ve wanted to witness since i was 8  => Sonic Vs Mario!! (with no sissy Olympic events to put official polish on the madness). Sonic Rules Fools.

Err, getting back to the point of ART (specifically, MINE) one of my favourite characters in the series is a chap called Captain Falcon. He has many a name related fighting move and looks like this:

Now, I’ve ignored internet lingo as long as I possibly could, but I decided a while ago to finally embrace some of it by using words such as ‘Epic’ and ‘Fail’ – sometimes in combination – “Epic Fail, Dickwad” (little film ref for you there…)

While I was still struggling with it, I once provided ‘Because he’s Made Of WIN’ as an answer to my brothers mid-smash-bros question: ‘why is Captain Falcon so good’.
I thought it summed it up quite well, so here’s what i drew for his card:

See what I did there? I also used the same design to create what I think, would make a pretty cool T-shirt:

I’d like to put ‘MADE OF WIN’ either in white next to the image, or in red on the back to really ham up the idea 🙂 – watch this space.

Finally I’m just going to include another pic I did on Photoshop, featuring the Captain – like time it was for the Christmas just gone. Enjoy!

Christmas With Captain Falcon

About christofurr

I am an Illustrator currently in the third and final year of an Illustration For Graphic Novels course at Glyndwr University, Wrexham (UK). I do all kinds of commission work, from poster to portraits. Fell free to have a nose around this blog and any of my other sites - be warned, Twitter updates may be totally and completely irrelevant and naughty - and please feel free to contact my email address with any queries about my work :)

3 responses to “Captain Falcon Is Made Of Win”

  1. Jennie says :

    Haha, awesome stuff 🙂 This is really cool, I love the story behind it too! I’m looking at making images out of text for my exquisite corpse brief so this is extra inspiring!

  2. rajatapaus says :

    Well. What else can I write than: Win!

Leave a Reply

