Reeesearch – Oil Painting

When people talk to me about Oil paints, I tend to think Old School. I don’t mean lots of renaissance type religious paintings of people pointing at things,  I mean work like that of John constable…

There you go – Boat Building, by John Constable – nice huh? Would look good above my fireplace, while I read a leather-bound book from an old armchair, with a wheezey hound drooling on my slippers, my smoking jacket crisp and my pipe a-smoking.

Unfortunatly, I’m some way aways from this ideal dreamscape, and Constables work doesn’t really reflect my own to be honest, so I hit Google and went in search of others.

Then I found this:

“Gypsy Vanner” by Marcia Baldwin

Not only are the brush strokes broader, and more expressive, but the colours are abstract and emotive… as much as I’ve never enjoyed painting, if I WERE to take it up as a the medium of choice for my work, I would hope to be able to one day produce work like this. Although I was joking with pipes and armchairs when I was talking about Constable’s work, I DO respect it, and I’ve really enjoyed looking some of his pieces in the museums I’ve been too – but it’s work like this I can RELATE to. Especially after having to draw horses last semester – they are magnificent animals, and Baldwin does an excellent job of capturing their energy and sheer power in these paintings. plus, the one below shifted for three and a half GRAND. Moneymoneymoneymoney 🙂

“War Pony”

Here are a few others I thought were amazing:


And of course, the obligatory landscape – it’s soooo purrrty *_*


http://mbaldwinfineart.blogspot.com/2009_01_01_archive.html

About christofurr

I am an Illustrator currently in the third and final year of an Illustration For Graphic Novels course at Glyndwr University, Wrexham (UK). I do all kinds of commission work, from poster to portraits. Fell free to have a nose around this blog and any of my other sites - be warned, Twitter updates may be totally and completely irrelevant and naughty - and please feel free to contact my email address with any queries about my work :)

Leave a Reply

