Apish Advertisements

I’ve joined fellow illustrators from my course in a joint-venture comic book entry to this years Thought Bubble (Sequential Art Convention in Leeds), and while the actual pages of my comic are yet to be drawn, I’ve managed to knock-up a version of the self-advertisement we’ll all be using to introduce ourselves in the front of our book. The idea was to do them in the style of the old advertisements for strange products found in old comics (such as X-Ray Specs) so I picked a favourite of mine that used to crop up in almost ALL dad’s old comics – the Darling Pet Monkey Ad. To save some Googling, here’s the original:

My parody of this is done, and as I’m pleased with how it’s turned out, I want to post it up, but as I’m not 100% on the measurements, it might be subject to a few edits before it goes in the comic. Likewise the last version with the old-paper look (my favourite) probably won’t be the PRINTED version, as it would then be a different colour to everyone else’s – so for viewing pleasure only 🙂

 

About christofurr

I am an Illustrator currently in the third and final year of an Illustration For Graphic Novels course at Glyndwr University, Wrexham (UK). I do all kinds of commission work, from poster to portraits. Fell free to have a nose around this blog and any of my other sites - be warned, Twitter updates may be totally and completely irrelevant and naughty - and please feel free to contact my email address with any queries about my work :)

Leave a Reply

