The Carrot Crusader – Thought Bubble 2011

As previously mentioned in my Apish Advertisements post, this year a few of my fellow classmates and I are entering Thought Bubble, the Leeds based comic convention, with a anthology of comic fun called Defective Comics (I think credit goes to Heather for the name) – a series of two page stories all starting with the sentence “Certainly Officer, my memory is hazy, but it went like this” – or in my case, something very similar 😛

After struggling with a heavy cold, staying up very late and missing a few parties, I’ve finished my entry, and dis how it goes….

As always, click to embiggen, warning, file size may be laaaaarge!
Anyway, I’m really pleased with how this came out, it was a series of firsts for me, as despite being in a Graphic Novel course for 2 years so far, I’ve yet to actually FINISH a comic until now, and although my digital colouring skills have improved a lot recently, I’ve never successfully added text to anything before – the latter could still need some improvement, as it was mostly trial and error, but like I say – very pleased 🙂

As I did all my stages on different sheets, I actually have physical evidence of my working process this time, so I’ve scanned it in for those who are interested, and for anyone who would like to see the final colours minus the text (warning, files are even BIGGER than the last two!)

About christofurr

I am an Illustrator currently in the third and final year of an Illustration For Graphic Novels course at Glyndwr University, Wrexham (UK). I do all kinds of commission work, from poster to portraits. Fell free to have a nose around this blog and any of my other sites - be warned, Twitter updates may be totally and completely irrelevant and naughty - and please feel free to contact my email address with any queries about my work :)

2 responses to “The Carrot Crusader – Thought Bubble 2011”

  1. Julie says :

    any chance I could print off and test run on the older kids in school? Mind you, havent read it all yet so – suitable?

    • christofurr says :

      Should be fine, there’s hints of alcohol and murder, but they’re all disguised by vegetable jokes 🙂 As I say, we’re printing it as an actual comic, so I’ll just buy you a copy if you like? 😛

Leave a Reply

