Invincible: ‘Viltrumite Vogue’

I’ve been knocking out and putting up a lot of shop-based work in the last couple of days in an attempt to finance Christmas, and I couldn’t have done it with out my beautiful (and very well organised) girlfriend MIZZ Lucy Benson 🙂 (blog post with details to come…)

But as it’s a bit of a slog to get it up and running, I decided to reward myself by entering a competition I’d had my eye on, the afore mentioned “Invincible: Viltrumite Vogue” by Project Rooftop – a chance to redesign the costume of young hero Invincible (Image Comics) with the entries to be judged by the artists of the comics themselves!

My Design

The idea behind my design concept was basically… I thought it looked cool (hey, at least I’m honest!) but the finished design ended up looking quite armoured, and therefore rather redundant on a character who is as he is named… Invincible. So then I started thinking about WHY he would need such a costume:

1) Invincible loses his powers! – The new costume could be a ‘power-suit’ of sorts, designed to mimic his old abilities until he gets them back (if he ever gets them back!)

2) Invincible’s secret identity is at risk! – this costume covers him up entirely, meaning that if his identity were to come under suspicion, he could dress a superhero buddy in the new costume, and appear in his civvies right next to him with no-one knowing the difference!

3) Invincible needs to be in space longer than a week! – According to Wiki, Omni-man was able to hold his breath for an entire week once, on an extended trip to space – it wasn’t clear exactly how long Invincible could hold his, but even if it was the same, what if it took him longer to get there? What if he got lost? This costume could be a modified space-suit, with a small oxygen canister for the long trip (and a built in MP3 player to help relieve the boredom of flying for a WHOLE WEEK – yeesh!)

4) Invincible needs to avoid that virus like the plague! – The original Scourge virus wiped out almost the entire Viltrumite race, so what if Invincible had to fight a creature made of out of it? Or Zombie Viltrumites infected with it? Well he’d need a costume to protect him wouldn’t he! Or would he? (does being a hybrid protect him?)

Thoughts…
I do like my finished design – the body proportions are way off in places, but the general design concept is fairly clear, with the extra heads showing that the character can still be expressive and ‘human’ (a feature I think is important to include in a hero character) despite having his head enclosed in a full helmet. This mini-project was pretty frustrating in many ways: it seems that i had almost completely forgotten how to draw superheroes, and at one point I thought my computer was going to crash before I could save it, but it was a fun alternative to the large, and in terms of the comic I’m working on, rather over-bearing projects I’ve got going at the moment – I just hope that, although I SENT it before the EST Midnight deadline, they RECEIVED it before too :/

*EDIT*
And receive it they did! I got an ‘honourable mention’ and some very kind words from fellow Projects Rooftoppers! I really didn’t expect this, so big thanks to P:R and all the comments, I look forward to entering the next one!

Honourable Mentions List

Tags: , , , , , ,

About christofurr

I am an Illustrator currently in the third and final year of an Illustration For Graphic Novels course at Glyndwr University, Wrexham (UK). I do all kinds of commission work, from poster to portraits. Fell free to have a nose around this blog and any of my other sites - be warned, Twitter updates may be totally and completely irrelevant and naughty - and please feel free to contact my email address with any queries about my work :)

3 responses to “Invincible: ‘Viltrumite Vogue’”

  1. Stephen Thornton says :

    Nice job! Very interesting/unusual design but I like your explanation for it, hey it works! My design was more traditional http://stephenscomicgenius.blogspot.com/
    take a look and give me any feedback, I need it. Can’t wait until they announce the results!

    • christofurr says :

      Hi Steve, thanks for the comment – just had a look at your design and it’s ace 🙂 I like the HUD idea – just because he’s invincible doesn’t mean that he doesn’t need extra info – catching bullets would be much easier if you had a direct link-up to all kinds of wind-speed and trajectory information wouldn’t it! But the thing I like best with your illustration is the multi-colour options you provided with it – if I hadn’t left my design so last minute, I would have done the same (if I had changed the orange to yellow and the black to blue for example, he would have been much more recognisable as Invincible) but oh well. Incidentally, I think you made the RIGHT colour choice 🙂

      Do you know when they ARE going to announce the results?

      • Stephen Thornton says :

        Thanks so much Chris! I’m not sure when the results will be posted, I’ve been checking back everyday 🙂 I would like an honorable mention if nothing else.

Leave a Reply

