Spider-Man Redesign

It hasn’t really sunk in for me that University is now over… projects are “completed” (some may require some ACTUAL finishing) Assessment is over (I passed!) and my work is framed and currently hanging in the end of year show (I might do a blog post about that in my new blog… when I BUILD my new blog…) – but it doesn’t really FEEL like it’s all over. Having been to three Graduations already (none of which were mine) I’m well aware that not everyone goes… seems strange that apart from random encounters, I’ll never see some of my classmates again. While I never got to be as close friends to some as I would have liked to, I’ll miss you guys – good luck with all you hope to achieve 🙂

*ahem* Anyway, to celebrate the end of deadlines, and some actual time off before I start my job at Mecca (thrilling as THAT will be) I now have time to catch up on all the drawing I haven’t been able to do, including birthdays and anniversary cards (whoops!) I simply haven’t had time to do until now… but before all that, I wanted to draw Spider-Man 😛


I’ve had this design in my head for a few years now (see how long it takes me to get around to things) and I think it started to evolve in my head whilst I was watching an old episode of the 90’s Spider-Man cartoon. As awesome as it was (and still is in many ways) it was annoying me at how bulky they had made him – Spider-man should always be spindly, and light-looking in my opinion, like spiders themselves. I originally had planned this Spider-Man simply to be a mutant replacement for the original (maybe he had abducted the original… maybe he had been drafted in by S.H.I.E.L.D or something) simply called ‘Mutant Spider-Man’, but in drawing it I started to develop a proper character behind the ‘mask’ – a mutant named Facsimile; who’s mutant power enables him to replicate any superpower in his own, unique way (an interpretation of that power if you will). He is limited to one power at a time, and can’t successfully replicate weapons (such as Thor’s hammer) or machines (Iron-Man’s armour) to their full extent. There was more, but hopefully it won’t be years again until I get to draw him, or other superhero Facsimile forms (such as the Hulk), so I’ll say more about him some other time.

Here’s a few sketches showing him doing ‘whatever a spider can’ to demonstrate how the design works…

And a few alternative colours for a Black Suit/Neon version (I saw Spidey in a neon costume recently… not sure what it was for)…
So that was fun! Better get on with those cards now…

Incidentally,  I’m attempting to build myself a website, so unless I can find a way to splice it with this blog, this could be the last time I post here – or at least when I post that I’ve successfully completed the website, THAT will be the last post – thanks so much to those that follow me, stay tuned for more ramblings; different web-time, different web-channel!

Chris

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About christofurr

I am an Illustrator currently in the third and final year of an Illustration For Graphic Novels course at Glyndwr University, Wrexham (UK). I do all kinds of commission work, from poster to portraits. Fell free to have a nose around this blog and any of my other sites - be warned, Twitter updates may be totally and completely irrelevant and naughty - and please feel free to contact my email address with any queries about my work :)

Leave a Reply

