Recent work – Knights of The Round

A while ago I saw that my fellow Glyndwr Alumni Becka Moor had entered a competition called ‘Knights of The Round’ on Tumblr, and thought it looked like fun and that I’d give it a go…

… then I forgot all about it!

Literally the last few hours before deadline, I decided it was now or never, and that if I was going to get over the Artists block that’s been stumping me since New Designers, I had better do it NOW – and here it is!

 

Image

 

Here we have Sir Vente, knight of song and poetry (that’s right, a name-pun on the word ‘sirvente’ – you know I love a good name pun) his trusty side-kick Tobias the Troublesome Troubadour, and their magnificent Singing Serpent!

It’s always good to know I’m right – this WAS a fun project, and it HAS got me back in the game – I met the deadline and it’s on the site, with the winner being announced on the 22nd. Looking back on it a few days later, I decided I wanted to work into it a bit more before I put the lid on it, so I made this:

Image

 

As you can see, I used a ‘worked-in’ type look to the shading, in a similar manner to the way I did the finished pages of my children’s book (to be published in a future blog post) and I like it – gives the usual flat tones of a Photoshop colour job a bit more life, and looks particularly great on the waves/moustache – looks almost like acrylic paint…

Image

 

And then finally I popped the image on to a new, slightly more vibrant weathered paper background – and now I’m finished 🙂

 

 

ONE MORE THING…

I saw this girl in town the other day, and thought she looked so ridiculous, I was compelled to doodle her…

Image

I’m not even exaggerating with that make-up – that was pretty much the shade of orange, and you could SEE the rim of it going all around the side of her face! It was like she was wearing an Oompa loompa mask… and the weirdest part is, I’ve seen this before! Is this a look? Is this one of those fashion things I don’t understand? It was all I could do not to just stare in bewilderment O_O

 

About christofurr

I am an Illustrator currently in the third and final year of an Illustration For Graphic Novels course at Glyndwr University, Wrexham (UK). I do all kinds of commission work, from poster to portraits. Fell free to have a nose around this blog and any of my other sites - be warned, Twitter updates may be totally and completely irrelevant and naughty - and please feel free to contact my email address with any queries about my work :)

Leave a Reply

